Consequences of choices made.

I made the decision to get up at 5.31am instead of the usual 6.03am. I wanted to avoid people, who are invariably going out earlier as the weather gets warmer. But instead of avoiding people I saw more than usual. People walking dogs, people jogging, people cycling… people everywhere!

I pulled up in the car park and let the hounds loose… five of them in total (not all mine, just in case you were wondering!). Just behind us was a chap with a gsd… I hurried to get the pack out of the way, and chose to take a different route over the fields.

I headed straight to the woods, thinking that I could traipse the fields after the woods. Just inside the woods we saw a woman with her dog, and in order to avoid contact I decided to walk the woods widdershins. The woman decided to do the same.

Within minutes all five dogs had disappeared, not unusual in the woods. But they usually bark at squirrels so I know where they are, on this particular day they were all silent. I looked and shouted as I stomped along the path, eventually spotting one of my boys through the trees. I pushed my way through the undergrowth, mindful of the nettles, and headed towards my dog.

All the pack were there… so was a dead deer 😦 They were all nompsing on bits, the younger two managed to pull the main deer into two pieces. One ran off with the top half, the other with the bottom. After lots of coaxing and lead use I managed to get four of five dogs away from the carcass. The fifth dog was nowhere to be seen.

I took the four dogs out into the field (easier said than done, it actually took three attempts!) and sat in the grass calling for the fifth dog. Just as I was about to give up and head back into the woods she appeared… her belly twice it’s usual size.

I eventually arrived back home almost three hours after setting off that morning. And it was all because of the choices I made that morning… going out earlier, choosing a different route, walking widdershins instead of deosil around the woods…

Leave a Reply

